Is Apple Mail currently stable enough to be trusted? If not, suggestions with tight system integration?

I used to use Apple Mail, and then with the release of (I believe) Catalina there were some nasty bugs where there was the potential for email loss during the IMAP sync process. So I switched to Outlook, because I have an Office365 subscription.

But Outlook is at least a little frustrating because it wants me to use its built-in calendar, its built-in contacts, etc. I’d like my email client to understand that this is a Mac, and that I already have a calendar / contacts system. :smiley:

So….considering switching back to Apple Mail, but concerned about reliability. Anybody have any experience?

And alternatively of course, any other mail clients that have good system integration?

I’m not particularly fond of Apple Mail, but I don’t recall ever missing any IMAP mail – I connect to mail accounts in Mal exclusively with IMAP.

1 Like

It’s anecdotal but I’ve never lost email due to Mail and I’ve synced from a few different services.

I maintain multiple clients (Gmail, Mail, Outlook, and Spark though not every account is in every client) because they’re best at different kinds of reads and replies, and suit different moods of mine. :slight_smile: I’d certainly recommend Mail unless you work with a lot of Gmail/GSuite users who use long email chains; Mail isn’t as good at keeping those connected.

1 Like

I’ve wanted to believe in Apple Mail and every other year or so they trot out new features of Mail at a WWDC Keynote and my hopes are renewed …until I try it.

Apple Mail feels like an app without a soul. Apple puts features into its lifeless body yet somehow they can never seem to care enough to revive its spirit. I’ve even tried turbo boosting it with Mail Suite 2019.