Is OLED worth £200 (iPhone 11 vs 11 Pro)

I definitely need to retire my iPhone 7. Now the question is 11 or 11 Pro.

I’m not a pro photography nor do I use a lot o video. BUT I love the latest and greatest tech.

The only aspect of the 11 Pro that I fancy is the OLED screen. Everything else sounds like I could go with the 11 (and increase its storage to 128 as opposed to the 64Gb I would select on the 11 Pro).

Am I missing anything in here?

Note: this would be a phone for the next 3 years…

Thanks!

I can’t tell the difference between OLED and LCD on a phone. They say that the OLED has deeper blacks (true), but for all practical purposes (for me; I don’t want movies on my phone) it makes no difference and I wouldn’t pay anything extra just for OLED. Others swear it’s much better though, so take what I’m saying with a grain of salt :slight_smile:

When I shopped for my iPhone last year I actually preferred the LCD screen which was brighter. But I bought the XS Max not for the OLED but for (a) the higher pixel density (the iPhone 10 offered less screen real estate than my 6s Plus) and (b) the better camera. That would be my recommendation today as well: if you don’t want the cutting edge camera, and you’re okay with a big, less-pixel-dense screen you’ll be delighted with the iPhone 11 and its LCD.

My eyes are getting older. One day I will not be able to appreciate OLED, so I say go for an OLED. I did that with the Xs and I love apps that let me have black theme, instead of dark. I think iOS 13 Dark Mode will be really nice.

I am not sure if that is actually the case, but I believe iPhone Xr does not support 3D Touch. Not sure if that’s also the case iPhone 11.

3D Touch is gone, baby, gone on all new iDavices. They are all long-press ‘Haptic Touch’ (which is also in the Xr).

1 Like

Interesting, thanks for sharing.