Is PDF Expert for Mac worth buying?

I love great Mac software. I have the Affinity Suite and use it every so often, I’m no longer a professional who uses it at work due to work issued PCs etc. But nevertheless, great Mac software that’s always there.

Just got an email from Readdle, a promo citing that I’m eligible for the special education pricing. That’s $40 / £32 for a £75 retail price PDF Editor. I liked the iOS apps before the subscription model, and my student status can run out anytime now that I’ve finished university. So I won’t have this option forever.

If any of you use it, do you find it worthwhile? Thanks

I like it. It’s light-weight and responsive. I can’t go into the deep ins and out of the software as I’m not an expert, but it does virtually everything I need it to do.

1 Like

I don’t think so. I bought it when it first came out hoping it would rapidly catch up to Smiles PDFPen but since them PDF Pen has had two major updates and PDF Expert has had a bunch of small updates and a huge price increase.

For me a better solution is going to be PDFPen Pro 12 which I upgraded to and I’ll likely augment it with Highlights which is looking like an excellent way to notate and collect PDF for research

Why not try the foss Skim
Not a fan of Readdle’s recent movement to subscription models. The Mac version could fall any time.

1 Like

What are your needs? On the Mac I use Skim, which is free, for everyday dual-page pdf reading, just because I’m used to it and have been using it for years. But I also own PDF Expert for signing, annotating, cropping, and editing.

At stacksocial PDF expert is currently available for $30,-

https://stacksocial.com/sales/pdf-expert-award-winning-software

4 Likes

Thanks! Skim was new to me. Just downloaded it and for pdf viewing it seems very fast.

It’s well worth it to me. I use it everyday. Not so much for reading (I do that on paper mostly), but for editing, removing pages, creating PDFs, printing, etc.

1 Like