I've been taking notes wrong my whole life

The Cortex podcast has an interesting discussion of note-taking, from which I learn that I’ve been taking notes wrong my whole life. Which is remarkable, because I went from being a student to being a journalist, which means my whole life I’ve been a professional note-taker.

And I may end up trying Obsidian again, or even Roam Research.

The discussion starts at 32 minutes, give or take a few seconds.

I hope to have more to say about this but I’m just throwing this out there for now as - hopefully - a discussion-starter.

6 Likes

Going to have a listen now… Which is only fair, giving your well, shall we say – enticing – title… :sunglasses:

1 Like

I’ve tried Zettelkasten systems a couple times but they never seemed to make sense (I even tried reading a recommended book). While I understand the principle of what they are proposing, it hasn’t made sense to me how this would be good for my own research.

2 Likes

There is no right way to take notes.

It is not math.

There is no “right” way. “Taking notes the right way” has no objective meaning whatsoever.

I suspect a significant chunk of the Mac Software Universe and the Mac Blogosphere would crumble if people would ease up on their anxiety and FOMO and just take notes whatever way seems natural to them and stopped the endless lemming march searching for advice.

14 Likes

Seriously. The hype around Roam and Obsidian is deafening.

6 Likes

I started to listen and boy didn’t realize Myke Hurley is a co-host. I will leave it at here …

3 Likes

I appreciate the link, but this is too much like morning radio. I’m 10min in (starting at 32), and they haven’t said anything.

4 Likes

That’s how a lot of podcasts are these days. That and Youtube videos.

3 Likes

@anon41602260 / @dfay: I’m not necessarily convinced that there’s a “right way” to write notes, but there are probably wrong ways.

E.g.,