Keyboard Maestro Windows management scripts for laptops and desktops

Hopefully I’m posting this in the right spot. :smile:

I’ve been spending some of my Christmas break (I’m a college professor in upstate NY) going a bit deeper into KM. I love the idea of scripting windows for various setups (email, course management work, grading, etc.). As I’m sure is the case with many people, I work on a desktop (in my case, M1 iMac with an external display) and a laptop (M2 Macbook Air).

For those of you who are power users of KM and use it for things like window management, do you find that you have to create two sets of window setups – one group of setups (Palette?) for when you are on your laptop and another for your desktop? For example, my grading setup on my M2 Air is going to be a lot different on a small monitor than when I’m working on my iMac with an extra monitor and can put various windows on the external display. Before I commit to the extra step of making two sets of “setups” I just want to make sure I’m not missing something.

Thanks.

Have you looked at Moom for window placements. Moom setups can be assigned to keyboard shortcuts, which keyboard maestro call replicate.

5 Likes

I have a single macro that sizes and positions windows differently depending on which Mac I’m working at. The key is to get the width of the screen and choose the window size and position parameters based on whether the screen width is desktop- or laptop-sized.

3 Likes

There’s some information on the keyboard Maestro forum that might be useful

My personal experience is that running Moom snapshots from KM works fine if it’s fairly standard.
For more complicated and multi monitor setups sticking with KM alone is less of a fiddly issue

Unfortunately window management on the mac is one area where macOS is lagging behind linux, where window/tiling managers are more commonplace.

1 Like