Kindle Oasis vs Paperwhite

Thinking of getting a Kindle. I have a very old Paperwhite. Should I go for the Oasis? It’s very expensive and is it worth it?

What “problem” are you trying to fix with the upgrade? Does Oasis fix that problem? Or does another model do it?

1 Like

That is a difficult question. I have been using an Oasis for about 2 years now. I had been using the Paperwhite before that.

I prefer the Oasis over the Paperwhite. I like the form factor, I love the physical buttons for turning the pages.

There are loads of comparisons online:
https://duckduckgo.com/?q=kindle+oasis+vs+paperwhite&t=osx&ia=web

One of them, that I like:

The author comes to the conclusion that the Paperwhite is the winner. I beg to differ. But I do not use add-supported versions which might be one of the reasons why the Paperwhite is winning in this article (allegedly, the Oasis adds are more intrusive).

My answer would be: if you are fine with your Paperwhite, there are not many reasons to go for a new Paperwhite. Stick to the old one. If it lacks something, ok. If you want to have the Oasis form factor with the keys and if you are willing to spend the money: the Oasis is a nice device. But the Paperwhite is not bad, either!

2 Likes

For me it’s a no brainer, I picked up the Gen 1 Oasis back in Jan 2017, and have loved it ever since. Physical buttons, the form factor, extended battery life. With the even better screens and water proofing for the later models it’s even better.

2 Likes

My PW is too old. Battery doesn’t last as long. It’s just a good time to upgrade. Question is, do I go for a new PW or an Oasis?