Landscape vs. portrait

I graduated from the iPad mini 2 to the full-size iPad yesterday, and now face the question how to hold the device in day to day use. I used the mini 2 in portrait mode exclusively, and now with the bigger device I’m switching between portrait and landscape to see which is more comfortable.

Which do you prefer?

• Portrait
  • Landscape

0 voters

Pick one - whichever you use most of the time.

Which size did you get?

If I’m reading articles, news, Reeder, or writing in IA Writer I’m in Portrait mode - otherwise purely Landscape mode

I got the 9.7” non-Pro iPad that was introduced in March. It seems sufficient to my needs.

What else do you do on the iPad? What do you do with it in landscape mode?

I do all reading and annotating in portrait and all writing and typing in landscape. The exception is I use portrait when taking notes with the Apple Pencil.

1 Like

I do RAW photo editing, research for upcoming online articles, blog posts, etc.
Other than that I do the usual office type tasks, calendar management, etc.

Occasionally I do light video editing / production - so far in iMovie but looking for a bit more capable app, though

1 Like

I do “everything” in landscape, except when reading magazines (PDF’s) whose layout is in portrait.

1 Like

On my iPad mini I also did everything in Portrait. All bigger iPads I used usually ended up in Landscape.

1 Like

Completely depends. When browsing the web with no typing required, often I do so in portrait mode. Same for reading news/articles.

But once I need to type, landscape and use my Smart Keyboard. Also, if I’m doing heavy web surfing that needs tabs, I’ll go landscape.

That’s the beauty of the iPad — it can morph to meet whatever my current needs are.

2 Likes