Laptop prep for international travel

Planning an international trip in about 5 months, and wanted to do the legwork on cleanup prior to customs.

The legal environment is basically, “they can take your laptop, force you to unlock it, and copy the entire contents” (Alasaad v. Mayorkas - Harvard Law Review).

So…in that environment, it’s obviously ideal to not have anything on the laptop that’s even remotely worth anything. Of course I’m a server admin, so being able to access my servers in case they have problems is a potential issue there.

The ideal scenario here would be to have a largely-empty device with a VPN client to an actual device somewhere else that had everything on it, but I don’t have that sort of setup at this point.

Any thoughts/ideas for security purposes?

Empty the laptop but bring everything on a hidden restorable thumb drive.

2 Likes

I would think that theoretically thumb drives would be hard to hide from a scanner - and the search/copy stuff applies to them as well.

Go down to the Armory and ask to speak to “Q.”

11 Likes

If you don’t need any native apps why not use a Chromebook? Set up one Google account with everything you need and another to log in for security.

I never travel with a laptop, only my phone or iPad. If you don’t wipe a laptop and do a clean install with just those apps, etc. that you need you cannot be certain what is left in the cruft.

With iOS it’s easy to delete any sensitive apps (banking, etc) and download them later if needed. If you are a 1Password user you can use Travel Mode and carry only those passwords you need for your trip. Everything else is removed from your devices.

FYI, the U.S. federal government claims the power to conduct certain kinds of warrantless stops within 100 miles of the country’s “external boundaries” which include international land borders and the entire U.S. coastline.

1 Like