LaunchBar is pretty cool

Based on this thread and others, I’ve bought Launchbar — and I like it.
It’s a different animal than clicking through the GUI, and certainly not Terminal. I would describe it as the reduced friction way to do things. I really like that it’s keyboard-centric.
I’m still learning (bought the book), but it’s already saving me time.

Would appreciate any suggestions you all have on usage, tutorials, actions, etc.!

2 Likes

I use it all the time for just 5% of it’s power and I still consider it a valuable tool for me.

1 Like

Instant Send is why I prefer it over Alfred. I had switched back and forth a few times between Alfred and LaunchBar over the last several years, but this time LaunchBar really has stuck for me. Instant Send is a big part of that. I like picking a file, double tapping the Option key (what I set as my trigger), and doing just about anything with the file.

2 Likes

I used Launchbar for years, but then a couple of years ago something on my system started interfering with its effectiveness and it slowed down dramatically for me; installing a new OS update didn’t help (and I wasn’t going to do a clean install to deal with the issue).

So I tried the LaunchBar competitor, Alfred, and quickly got used to it. In fact, by comparison LaunchBar seems a bit more powerful but also quite a bit more fiddly and complicated, and Alfred’s free version is probably enough for most people’s uses. (But the upgrade gets you a lot of nice add-ons, like 1Password integration, and I recommend it.) I’ve come to actually prefer Alfred, even though I spent many years using LaunchBar. They’re both great apps, and if you’re comfortable with it, that’s fantastic.

1 Like

How does this differ from File Actions in Alfred?