Learn to create Workflows like a ninja!

With the impending arrival of Siri Workflows my interest in automation across macOS and iOS has been rekindled in a big way.

I’ve also wanted to have the skills to build workflows but I just don’t have the skills required, as yet! I’ve dabbled a little with Applescipt and a little with javascript over the years but as it stands today I’m still a complete novice.

I know really want to get my head down and learn a strong foundation to build on.

Which brings me to my question, or questions should I say :wink:

Where is the best resources to go to for learning?

Also, I believe if you have a community you’re part of learning together you’re more likely to learn and at a faster taste :man_student: :woman_student:

Is there a resource out there like this?

I have wondered about the possibility of a forum on here for like minded learners to gather :school:

I’m just not sure there would be enough of us and if it’s something that would be allowed :man_shrugging:

Looking forward to your thoughts.

Gerry

6 Likes

For Python I recommend checking this one (which I heard from a member of the FB group):

https://pynet.twb-tech.com

1 mail per week for 8 weeks, easy to digest, great videos. Uses IPs and network as examples (not my cup of tea) but can be applied to pretty much anything.

3 Likes

If we’re enough for javascript, perhaps we can re-activate this idea in @RosemaryOrchard’s Orchard Automation forum :grinning:
https://discourse.automationorchard.com/t/weekly-challenge-1-create-a-new-daily-log/33

1 Like

Automation is a really broad spectrum to cover even if you just restrict it to Apple (which potentially cuts out web service only views) or a specific OS. People make entire careers out of just using one small aspect of automation such as a particular language (AppleScript springs to mind).