Leaving a mac powered on for a long time

Hi, is there any risk to leaving a mac powered on for a long time?

I’m specifically wondering if there is risk in keeping a 2019 mac pro powered on for several days or weeks consecutively. Would that be completely safe or would that be a risk to the hardware and/or a fire hazard?

I know that the 2019 mac pro comes in a server model, but I’m most curious about the 2019 mac pro that stands up vertically. When I’m not using it, the displays would be off and the computer would be in the lock screen. I don’t have much experience with servers or leaving computers on for a long period of time and the idea of leaving a computer on for a long time makes me a bit nervous that something could go wrong while I’m sleeping. It seems like it’s not a large risk because I know that many people run many servers overnight without issue, but I’ve never done it before and want to make sure that everything would be safe and the hardware would not get damaged.

I’m also wondering the same thing about macbooks. Do you think there any risk to leaving a 2012 macbook pro powered on for several days or weeks consecutively?

Also, is there anything that I should be aware of or do differently to make sure that it is safe? Or certain rules or protocols to follow? For example, would it be a good idea to periodically turn the computer off to give it time to rest?

Thanks!

1 Like

There is effectively zero risk in leaving a desktop or server permanently plugged in. You don’t need to worry.

For the laptop, I’d worry about degrading the battery, so I would periodically look at the battery health with an app like Coconut Battery, and periodically check for signs of battery bulging. However, I wouldn’t worry about a fire or electrical damage.

4 Likes

My iMac and Mac mini never get turned off and only get rebooted for software updates. The mini doesn’t even sleep. No issues.

7 Likes

Ok awesome, thank you!