Lightweight database suggestions?

Looking for a software recommendation:

I’m a photographer, and for years I used FileMaker Pro to create, enter and store all of my client contracts. It worked really well, but unfortunately is no longer a viable option for me. So to that end, I’m looking for a lightweight database solution that will allow me to design a contact page, enter the client data, print and store the records.

Suggestions? I know that there are cloud based services that will allow me to do this, but I’d prefer to avoid that.

Cheers

Dunno if database is what you’re looking for? What about something like

It sounds like you are needing a simple customer relationship management program. Have you tried searching for CRM software?

There are around 80 programs in the Mac App Store and many more if you opt for a web based solution.

2 Likes

Two ideas even though they are cloud-based would be Google forms and Airtable

1 Like

Tons of database apps on the app store.
Here are some that I believe are all free and open source.
Structr is perhaps the most interesting. It’s edgy too, since they omitted not one, but two vowels in their name.

https://structr.com/product/benefits

https://alternativeto.net/software/appflowy/about/

https://www.apimac.com/mac/idatabase/

5 Likes

I am always pleased with TapForms.

JJW

3 Likes

+1 for TapForms – it’s available too for Mac, iOS/iPadOS, and syncs reliably among all platforms.

If you happen to own DEVONthink, you can do a really lightweight data collection think with the “sheet” document type. The “sheet” is a tab-separated text file (.tsv) with a “form view” that DEVONthink puts in front it the data file. Totally portable; no lock-in.

1 Like

+1 for TapForms here too. I use it for car records (which I’m rubbish at maintaining, no fault of TapForms though), and a database of birds where it handles pictures and audio nicely.