Logitech Options software/MX Master 3 won't let my Mac sleep

Not really looking for an answer or anything here. But I hope maybe by posting I might help somebody else who’s having the same issue and can’t figure out why.

I have an MX Master 3 mouse that I’ve been using happily for months with no issues. A few nights ago when I tried to sleep my MacBook Pro, it kept bouncing back to life, usually within about five or 10 seconds.

I had recently installed Plex Media Server, and I had just the day before started using a Keychron K10 wireless keyboard, so I assumed one of those two was the culprit. But after a few nights of troubleshooting, I narrowed it down to the MX Master 3. If I turned that off before I slept the Mac, the Mac stayed asleep.

I wondered if the Logitech Options software, rather than the hardware, might be the problem, so I uninstalled Logitech Options and restarted the Mac. After that, the Mac stayed asleep, even without turning off the mouse.

Just to be sure, I re-installed Logitech Options and went through the motions again, and I was able to re-create the issue.

So I’ve uninstalled Logitech Options for the time being. I miss the extra functionality, but I’m too obsessive to let that problem keep popping up every night.

What I don’t understand is why it just started happening this week. The Logitech website says the software hasn’t been updated since January. If it had been updated recently, that would make more sense to me.

3 Likes

This is Interesting. What have you lost without using the LG software? I know you can’t have your custom button or scroll settings anymore. Can you still use the USB remote? How fast does the pointer move without the app? Do you get smooth scrolling or anything without the app?

I hate the app, but like you say, I like the features. Fortunately, I haven’t had this issue.

Did you try their new beta software yet to see if it maybe fixed it?