Looking for a Chess game for iPadOS / Mac

I’m a beginner chess player and would like a recommendation for a chess game either for iPadOS or the Mac.

I know how to move the pieces but know nothing of strategy nor defensive moves. If the program has tutorial modes that’s a plus.

Thanks

macOS comes with a basic Chess app.

4 Likes

For iPadOS, do give ‎Really Bad Chess a try if you don’t mind a grain of whimsy.

4 Likes

Great game, but not plain old vanilla chess… :stuck_out_tongue:

@tonycapp you could try Shredder Chess (Mac and iPad). The apps are quite old style, but the engine is good and you can adjust the ELO strength.

There are HIARCS and Stockfish; both are great chess engines but you’ll have to tinker a little.

There are of course online resources like chess.com and lichess.org, both have learning sections that can help a lot with the basics.

I’d start with lichess learning sections and then some games there before buying a game (you can use the Mac chess game, as @ChrisUpchurch noted) , if I were you.

I use (used, really, haven’t played in years, I should start again…) shredder, and on mobile is good to play some puzzles or quick game on the go (when you could be “on the go”, of course :sweat_smile:)

2 Likes

Chess.com has some amazing learner videos for free. Their daily puzzle is also free (one per day). If you want more you have pay for a monthly or annual fee.

Lichess study lessons are also free and very good. Their daily puzzle is free and limitless unlike Chess.com

You can play chess games on both apps either with friends or with the chess community.

Hikaru Nakamura is a Chess.com player. You can see his puzzle rush games on Youtube as well.
So is Magnus Carlsen.

Chess.com probably has the largest chess community and resources.

3 Likes

Thanks for all of those suggestions. I should have mentioned that I need a game that allows me to play against the computer, in addition to being a tutor for a beginner.