Looking for a keyboard centric outliner app like Outlinely

Basically I want https://glamdevelopment.com/outlinely. The app is fantastic, has quick jump shortcuts for within the outline but also to other documents. Almost everything is adjustable with keyboards. I love it.

But the app seems dead. No update in over a year, the twitter is silent and their blog is giving a 502 error. I am still on the trial and would buy it without issues, but $50 is steep for an app that might be dead.

Is there anything else like it? OmniOutliner is another popular choice but from my experience, Omni products don’t really harmonize well with keyboard shortcuts. (I am also quite new to outlining and don’t need a heavy lifter like OmniOutliner)

1 Like

For the ultimate in keyboard-centric outliners, have a look at org mode for Emacs. Spacemacs is a nice customization of GNU Emacs.

Org mode has been around for years and has a lot of features, so there’s a learning curve, but start small and don’t try to do everything at once.

Ah yeah I know org-mode but I want something more GUI-ey (with sync) for this.

I prefer focused tools over text-based solutions that can be stretched to fit usecases

Check out Checkvist!
It is an outliner with a heavy focus on keyboard shortcuts. My interpretation is, that the “v” in Checkvist stands vor Vim.
It is only a web-app, but you can do everything via keyboard. And it is also a lightweight task manager (if you need that).
I also use this chrome extension for an even vimmier feel.

1 Like

Have you considered TaskPaper? Came across it on Setapp, it’s remarkably flexible and uses an open sourced plain text file format. Syncing across macOS devices is trivial (just save the document in iCloud drive). As far as I can tell there is no iOS client, but I have seen (not used) a third party iOS client called Taskmator.