Lose It app for tracking weight and exercise

Tapping around in the Lose It app yesterday, I discovered its history log, where I learned that I’ve been using the app since 2009. I weighed 271 pounds then and today I weigh 165. Lose It has been a big help to me in losing weight, keeping it off, getting healthy and staying healthy.

13 Likes

I have just returned to it after a hiatus and totally agree with you, it’s a big help. The design of the app is much more to my preferences than other apps in this space, too. My reasons for returning have more to do this time with sodium and fiber than just calories, and the ability to track these by swiping screens in the log is outstanding. Kudos to you for your health journey, too!

2 Likes

Was the free version sufficient for your needs or did you need the premium?

I use the Premium plan for the smart camera, syncing with other apps and devices, and just to support the developers.

I prefer FoodNoms, but that’s why we have a variety of apps :slight_smile:

1 Like

Congratulations, Mitch! I subscribed to the app a couple a months back, based on recommendations here, but I admit I didn’t use it yet. Looks like a huge pain in the ass, to tell you the truth.

1 Like

Because my needs this time around center on more than calorie tracking, I found it necessary to upgrade to the paid version. I also find value in the ability to use the camera to either identify the food (it’s usable in my experience so far!) or use the barcode on a package to start an entry. Both of those require the paid version.

Lose It definitely requires an investment in effort to get started using it. It gets much easier once you get all your regular foods programmed in, and figured out tricks and gimmicks for counting calories and using the app.

I weigh a lot of what I eat. Oatmeal, cottage cheese, fruit, vegetables. The scale is in the kitchen, on the counter where I prepare meals; it doesn’t take long to do.