Mac/PC KVM setup

I’ve been working from home for a few years now. Work requires Windows. Life requires macOS. My venerable 2015 MacBook Air has just died, so I’m finally headed for Apple Silicon. Work will be upgrading me to a desktop soon, so I’d like to get a Mac mini and kvm switch between the two. Can you all offer kvm switch and mac/pc friendly peripherals? I’ve never used a kvm switch.

1 Like

KVM switches sound like a good idea but can be finicky about the displays you connect to them, as they are typically designed for HDMI OR (not and) DisplayPort up to a certain resolution and no higher. The original co-host of the MPU show, Katie, had a different solution that I adapted for myself:

• I have an LG 5k/2k monitor with multiple inputs; there is a joystick input on the lower edge to switch between inputs. This is an ultrawide that can optionally display 2 computers side by side on the same display.
  • Logitech 3 way keyboard and mouse. While Logitech “flow” may allow you to move the mouse between computers, I prefer to just switch the keyboard and use a mouse for each computer. One of my mice can switch between 3 computers, but the switch is on the underside and it’s actually easier to just grab the correct mouse for each computer. Additionally I have a magic trackpad that is only used for my Mac and the Windows laptop has its own trackpad and rubbery joystick thing in between the keys in the keyboard.

Katie’s solution was similar, with a multi input display and a usb switch for the mouse and keyboard.

I’d suggest starting out this way as a low cost alternative, and if you really don’t get on with it, add a KVM that suits your display.

2 Likes

If you want the easiest method for switching between them, the best solution I found was using Synergy with two monitors.