Mac Power Users 467: Fitness Apps & Tech

2 Likes

Very good episode with lots of information I’ll have to refer to later. I started working out in December and have intentionally kept it low-tech until I build up a good routine. The only app I use is the Couch to 5K app because it tells me when to run and walk for my runs.

I’m conflicted on the Watch… I’d never use it outside of exercising - I don’t like wearing things on my wrist. The health and activity integration is too tempting, though. I’ll probably end up getting one when I can run outside.

1 Like

I downloaded Streaks, Workout++, Sleep++ and Activity++. Total cost $10 or less. I got off cheap. I had been using AutoSleep Tracker but David is right; Sleep++ is easier to read.

I’ve been using Lose It for 10 years or so — yes, that’s right, 10 years — to track everything I eat every day. Well, almost every day; nobody’s perfect. With Lose It’s help I lost 100 pounds and have kept 90 of it off since 2011. Lose It: Highly recommended. I switch other apps regularly, but Lose It has lived in my dock for a decade.

Unless your doctor tells you otherwise, you don’t need a water tracking app, because you don’t need to make yourself drink enough water. That’s a myth. Drink when you’re thirsty, don’t when you’re not, and you’ll be fine. Here comes the science:

5 Likes

I used a water tracker for a while, like 2 weeks, when I knew I wasn’t drinking enough and it really helped kick me into better habits such as drinking a glass of water between teas.
So, I’d say that an app to help you monitor your intake could be very helpful to help develop habits, but if you’re going to set targets, make sure they suit you personally.

Makes me think of the advice my wife got from her Chinese doctor: cut down on fruit. It turns out that many of the fruits she liked weren’t actually that good for her, which goes to show that generalised targets can be inappropriate for an individual.

1 Like