Mac Power Users 468: Mixing Macs and Microsoft with Christina Warren

Really enjoyed this interview. Hope you do, too!

2 Likes

Great episode! Microsoft people that don’t use Windows laptops isn’t super new to me (I remember a conference talk by one of the developers of the Chakra engine using a MacBook), but it’s great to have someone in the show that knows a lot about both sides and can talk about pros and cons.

2 Likes

It’s not just true for Microsoft. I attended a Google customer conference last year and half-jokingly apologized for my MacBook Pro and iPhone. The Googlers shrugged it off. Many of them were using Apple gear themselves.

Good episode!

My company is standardized on the Microsoft stack so I use it quite a bit. As a tech journalist, I am essentially a professional researcher, and I use Microsoft Word for note-taking. We use O365 for email and calendaring, and Teams for discussion and document-sharing. We’re transiting from Skype for Business to Teams for IM.

I grumbled when I was required to stop using Apple Mail. But now I have no complaints. Except for two with regard to email:

I really wish I could link to an individual message in Outlook for Mac, as I can with Apple Mail. That wouldmake it much easier to use OmniFocus, or any other third-party task manager. And linking to email is useful for storing research, too.

Also: The Mail app on the iPhone has a capability where you can set it to send an alert when a reply comes in to a particular message thread. Back when I used the Mail app on the iPhone, I used that capability all the time when I was, well, waiting for a reply to a particular email thread. I’d love it if the Outlook app on the iPhone could do that.

I am sharing these requests in the hopes that Christina Warren is reading this and can whisper in the correct ears!

1 Like