Mac Power Users 474: Using the iPad as a Laptop

This episode is literally perfectly timed for me.

I just started a new job which involves a fair amount of mobile computing, and lugging my 15” MBP (2013) around each day was killing my back. I briefly considered purchasing a MacBook, MacBook Air or MacBook Pro, but none of these options are compelling at the moment (bring on ARM MacBooks!). Time to stretch my iPad Air 2 to the limit!

2 Likes

Great episode! Unfortunately unless the startup I work for is purchased for billions of dollars, I cannot work with an iPad because I am a programmer (not even an Swift programmer). That said, I purchased my brother’s iPad Air 2 and I really like this device despite it being older.

It still runs super fast, the screen is beautiful. It’s perfect for apps like MindNode, Things, and it’s my ebook reader of choice (disclaimer, I rarely read ebooks). I also prefer to read long-form web articles on it than my MacBook, and I take online courses on it. Again, it’s mostly for consumption of media and content - not producing, but I’ve been very surprised by this little device.

I can see a completely unnecessary iPad Pro purchase in the future.

2 Likes

The mention of glass typing made me think “I should give that a try.” It seems to work pretty well. I’m typing with one finger and a thumb on my right hand, two fingers and thumb on my left, like a newspaperman in 1970. I just need an unfiltered cigarette dangling from the corner of my mouth to complete the look.

Thinking of getting a refurb first generation Apple Pencil for $85, thus continuing a MPU tradition of costing listeners money!

1 Like