Mac Silicon Envy - Buy now or wait for 3nm

I need some buying advice and could not think of a better set of people to ask. Let me start by telling you a bit about who I am. I am a tech/gadget guy, I am an early adopter and love buying the latest tech, whether it be home automation stuff or cool desk accessories (I have a very loving and understanding wife who tolerates me). I am also a huge self-confessed Apple fan boy, I am completely bought into the Apple ecosystem (Watch, phone, iPad, MacBook, iMac, Apple TVs, HomePods, AirPods, etc).

I work in IT as an independent consultant and since Covid I mainly work from home. Before Covid my main driver was a 2016 MacBook Pro (yes I am one of those that liked the touch bar), but since I have been working from home I mainly use a 2017 iMac 27inch 5k with an i5 processor, 40gb RAM and the 1TB Fusion Drive. When I have meetings with clients I pull out my MacBook Pro and use that. Most of my files are synced with iCloud so the two machine model has worked ok for me. I don’t do any video/music editing or coding, most of my work is large MS Word documents, software architecture diagrams spreadsheets.

I saw all the amazing reviews of the M1 MacBooks and was very tempted to replace my full setup with a 14 MacBook Pro and an Apple Studio display. This would allow me to move back to a single machine (simpler maintenance and lower cost for some apps) and I could sell my iMac and give my MacBook Pro to my wife to replace her 2015 MacBook Nothing.

I would probably go for a Pro chip with 1TB of storage, can’t decide if I need 32gb RAM or 16gb will be enough (although coming from 40gb on the iMac I am leaning towards the former). I know this is probably a bit overkill for my use case but I want to future proof my setup and like the idea of having spare horsepower.

I will be getting the Apple Studio Display from the Apple Refurb site to reduce the cost (Apple have it on for ÂŁ1269 regularly).

So here are the questions (finally)