MacBook Air/Pro, is the Air enough?

Long-term iOS user and looking to buy my first Mac.

Looking at either the 13 inch Air or the Pro, the “adorable” is too small. Much as I like the idea of the Pro it is a third more expensive than the Air.
I am a university student and my use is limited to a web browser (many tabs - it is a bad habit), word processor, reference manager and having multiple pdfs open at a time. And that is likely to be true for the forseeable future.

Is the Air sufficient to handle that comfortably, or do I spring for the Pro?

The Air would probably work for what you describe. Given your tab habit, you might look for one with upgraded RAM. The current model pretty long in the tooth, so you might consider a refurb (or even a refurb pre-touchbar Macbook Pro).

2 Likes

Get the pro!
The Retina screen will save your eyes and probably grades when missing out typo’s on the lower resolution MB Air screen.

You can skimp on storage but do max out the memory!!!

1 Like

B&H offers some discount and depending where you live you can save on the Sales TAX :wink:

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ntt=Apple%2013.3"%20MacBook%20Pro%20(Mid%202017%2C%20Space%20Gray)&sts=pi

MacRumors:
The MacBook Air is currently available only in a 13-inch size that has seen only minor updates since the last major revision in March 2015. The ultra-portable notebook computer offers Intel Broadwell processors and Thunderbolt 2 connectivity. On June 5, 2017, the base 13-inch model was updated with a faster 1.8 GHz processor.

There are rumors that the MBA will receive a real update later this year.

1 Like

MacBook Pro! Better resolution will save your eyesight. Back in my day at university, all the reading was a terrible strain…many headaches.