MacBook CPU Snobbery

I have a 2015 13" MacBook Pro. Lately I have found that I don’t use it as much as I used to and have been toting around my iPad Air with a Brydge keyboard for lighter work like e-mail and web surfing. The laptop was more for when I was away for more than 24 hours and needed a mobile office.

However, at some point I will have to upgrade, and I was thinking of getting a MacBook Air. My audio, video, and photo editing are all done on my Mac Mini, so I don’t anticipate heavy duty usage on my laptop. I am an attorney using cloud based apps and Office 365.

The Baseline MacBook Air comes with an Intel i3 chip and 8Gb of RAM. I have always skewed towards the i5 chip, but am now wondering if I should/need to pay more for the i5. Do I really need it for my use case, or am I just being a CPU snob?

Also, although the 256Gb SSD on the baseline model is more than sufficient, should I upgrade from 8Gb of RAM to 16? I want to be sure I future-proof the machine against new versions of macOS that may be RAM hogs.

So what does the collective hivemind think? Should I get the i3 or the i5? Or should I wait for a MacBook Air with Apple Silicon? 8Gb of RAM or 16?

As a rule of thumb, I double the RAM and storage of successive computers, typically upgrading every 4 years or so. For the current MBA, I’d go with the i5, as it’s a quad core CPU, which should help with the perception of speed, even if you don’t use it for work that makes much use of multiple cores.

1 Like

i5 + 16 GB

20 characters blah blah blah

2 Likes

i5 and as much RAM as you can get - 8Gb is paltry for running multiple apps in Catalina

Okay, now I’m wondering if I should put Catalina on my 8Gb MacBook Pro that’s still running Mojave.

Honestly spec up as much as you can. I made mistakes not doing this. Really try to go beyond 8GB. It depends of course on what you do and need. I can’t tell you how Catalina works on 8GB as I , snob that I am and intend to remain, run it on 64GB