MacBook Pro 16” 16/32/64 GB RAM?

I run a solo law practice and I am a photographer. Looking to get the new MacBook Pro 16” but not sure if 16 GB RAM would suffice or if I should make the next step to 32.

I usually have the following apps running during the day - Chrome (at most 10 tabs), OmniFocus, OmniOutliner, Word, Pages, Excel, Acrobat Pro, Reeder, Fantastical, Byword/NVAlt. I do use Photos, Lightroom and Photoshop but I usually don’t have all the other apps running - with the exception of Chrome.

Is 16 GB enough or should I upgrade to 32?

I can’t recall - is the RAM user upgradeable? Even if it’s a little bit of effort? If you can, I’d save the money on the RAM and don’t pay Apple’s prices.

However, if not - upgrade the RAM if you plan to keep the computer for any reasonable amount of time.

1 Like

RAM is not user-serviceable on any current Apple notebook.

2 Likes

I bought the 16” with 32 GB RAM and am very happy I did. I previously had 16 and always found myself worrying about the number of apps I had opened. I don’t have that concern anymore. One thing less to think about. If you have the money, definitely get 32. Heck, if money is not a concern, 64 would be good. I expect to use my new 16” for a long time and I’m sure apps will get larger and more memory hungry in the years ahead. Hope this helps.

1 Like

I just replaced a 2011 15" MBP with a new 2019 16" MBP. The older one had 8GB of RAM. I used it for Aperture (yes!) and Photoshop, as well as Final Cut Pro, and ran Windows under Parallels. Since I had no RAM issues (ever) I went for the 16GB RAM model.

Note that I don’t use Chrome, and whenever I’ve heard about people running out of RAM, they are Chrome users. It has very bad memory management.

1 Like

Use activity monitor to see your current memory usage. Best to check after working for a few hours so you get a good idea of your typical usage.