MacBook Pro "Service Battery" warning -- advice?

Looking for someone who’s “been there done that.”

My 13" MacBook Pro with Retina, early 2015 (model MacBookPro12,1) is working fine but I see the “Service Battery” warning:

which Apple’s Help interprets as:

Service Battery: The battery isn’t functioning normally, and you may or may not notice a change in its behavior or the amount of charge it holds. Take your computer in for service. You can continue to use your battery before it’s checked without harming your computer.

Apple charges $199 but I can get third party replacements from reputable suppliers like OWC/Newer Tech ($79) or iFixIt ($110). But the sites all say this is a difficult job (which I believe I can do since I have a lot of hardware experience).

Anyone have this experience and recommendations? For now, I am going to muddle along until the battery life is really a problem, and then…??

TIA.

Those sites are right; this is a pretty involved repair. If you’re going to keep this machine for a while, I’d spring for the Apple cost. I would imagine the battery will only go downhill from here, but that may be a slow process.

4 Likes

I second @ismh 's suggestion. I’ve worked on several unibody MacBooks. I stuck to dealing with screws and cables after one “fight to the death” with Apple adhesive.

While I agree with the comments, your “I have a lot of hardware experience”, was my thinking as well.

SO, I went ahead and did it (with an iFixIt kit).
It WAS a PITA, and DID take quite a while, BUT
It works! All buttoned up, no extra cable or screws
:grinning:

Of course, your mileage may vary, however, it’s not impossible, especially if you have a lot of hardware experience.

Outstanding! Glad everything worked out.

Great replies, thank you all.