Macs, Viruses and Time Machine

Since I switched to Macs over a decade ago, I have never used anti-virus software and have never seen any signs or issues that compelled me to. However, I’m a web developer who has a local backup of a client’s website that recently has shown signs of having been compromised. Since the suspected files were on my filesystem, this event seemed alarming enough that it warranted investigation. So I researched a bit and decided on ClamXAV, which I used to scan my local drive. Strangely, no malware was found in any of the client’s files, however, ClamXAV did indicate some files in my Time Machine backup (an external drive), and promptly quarantined/deleted them.

Shortly thereafter, I’m getting this notice that my TimeMachine backups are hosed and TimeMachine has to start all over.

After this experience, I have a couple of questions for the community.

1. Is it possible the TimeMachine event and the ClamXAV scanning are related? (Did the Clam software hose my backups?)
  2. Is it possible to fix my TimeMachine backups or are they a lost cause? I keep clicking “Backup Later” with the hopes of finding a solution.
  3. What Mac anti-virus software have you found to be the best?

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

1. Depending on what happened, almost certainly.

2. I don’t think so, but others may know differently. For my part, if a backup has ever shown any sign of being less than perfect, I no longer trust it at all.

3. I don’t. My workplace is getting Sophos for our Macs, so I may play with that a bit, but I dislike A/V software for pretty much exactly the reason you gave in your post. I have yet to be convinced that the risks incurred by running the stuff are less than just being careful and having good backups.

1 Like