Math Teacher needs your input on best Mirroring option for the situation

I’m a math teacher in a local community college and for a while now I’ve been using my Wacom tablet connected to my MacBook Pro 2015 in concert with Microsoft OneNote.

I then project my Mac screen onto a classroom large screen so students can follow along with my handwritten notes as I go.

However, I plan on getting the new iPad Air and an Apple Pencil (1st version) and would like to use that as my writing instrument on my Mac. Below are some options I’ve thought of, but I need the MPU users to help me decide what might be best.

1. Use OneNote on my iPad Air and Reflector 3 on my Mac to airplay my notes onto the Mac which gets in turn projected onto the classroom projector via the Mac.

2. Use Luna Display on the Mac. Run OneNote on the Mac but move that app window to the iPad Air via Luna Display capabilities. I may not get pressure sensitivity doing it this way.

3. Use Duet to do the same as option 2 above. However, with Duet you plug the iPad directly into the Mac.

Which of these do you think will be the best and smoothest to operate with the least latency? I already own Reflector 3 and also own Duet.

Thanks for all your help!

1 Like

I use an 11in iPad Pro not an iPad Air and have the Apple Pencil 2. This is absolutely the best for classroom work. I would not go to the bigger iPad because I would find it as unwieldy to hold as I move around the classroom. I cannot vouch for the iPad Air performance for what you want to do. I would avoid the original Apple Pencil unless you have a well-tuned drawing app that allows you to have a suitable wrist protection. You will only frustrate yourself and annoy the students in class by the constant glitches as the iPad believes your wrist is should take priority over the pencil.

I use ZoomNotes to draw my lecture notes. I have a workspace that provides a minimal set of tools that are ideally suited to create notes.