Mayday, SOS, Raising the white flag

Hello Everyone,

I first want to apologize as this post will likely be all over the place. That being said I am declaring a SOS, raising the white flag and calling a Mayday! I am a longtime MPU and Focused listener. Focused over the last few months has given me the strength to write this post and declaring I need help, even if just in emotional support.

Long story short, I am a freelance boudoir photographer and I suffer greatly from being overwhelmed and unorganized, resulting in sometimes zero productivity, no focus and decision paralysis.

I use OmniFocus, but its a mess and I can’t see to arrange it in a way that I stick with for the long term, even if I do greatly subscribe to the GTD mantra of getting things out of your brain. This could very much be my own lack of focus that causes this.

I am trying to grow my business more than ever and I know getting my ducks in a row and developing systems is going to be key. I’ve always been more laid back and less structured but I know that this has to change. I have so many days I stare aimlessly into my screen or task manager and its like I cannot decide what to do. I end up watching youtube for hours on end. Sometimes I feel like such a huge failure because of it.

I also struggle emotionally because everyone around me is a traditional 8-5 job person. I haven’t had a normal day job for 15+ years and I don’t think I could ever go back. Yet this is an issue because nobody understands what I deal with. They have the luxury of going to work and being told what to do, I have the freedom to choose and within the freedom is an undecided hell for me.