Mojave's devastating effect on my Outlook for Mac search function

Hello All: This is my first post so please forgive me if it’s missing critical info or is otherwise not properly aligned. First, huge thanks to all of you in this community who provide so many great resources and sound advice. You all are amazing. Now, my issue: After the Mojave install on my MacBook Air (2015), my Outlook for Mac search function stopped working. Over the past few days, I have spent countless hours with various levels of support at Microsoft. Yesterday they told me that an Engineer Advisor from “Level 3” would contact me to fix the problem. Bottom line, no call, and when I reached out to them I was advised that Microsoft is aware of the problem and will let me know when they have a fix. (Perhaps you could hear me screaming at them?) I had previously switched from Gmail to Apple Mail; I’m an attorney and there are some issues with Gmail confidentiality, so returning to Gmail is not an option. I tried Apple Mail, but I was sorely disappointed with its search function (especially after I was spoiled by Gmail’s superlative search functionality). Now I’m back where I started. Does anyone have any suggestions for a new email system – software or server based? I use GoDaddy, and one recommendation I received is to use Outlook365 from GoDaddy. Thoughts? Thanks so much.

When you say Apple Mail, do you mean the Mail application on your mac?
Who is your email host?

As a first step I’d try rebuilding your spotlight index to see if that helps with search in Mail.app:

2 Likes

Until you have a working client solution you might find using webmail gets you by, depending on who your provider is.

1 Like

Good idea! Thank you.

Thank for the help. Yes, I am referring to Mail. My spotlight should be fine, as I had to get a new OS installed 10 days ago. Nonetheless, I’ll check it out.