Monitor Recommendations for bad eyesight

Background - I am a lawyer who focuses on compliance issues and transactional work. I have bad eyesight (-10.5 contacts). I have to read a lot of documents, edit, compare them. My day is tightly managed and I like to have OmniFocus and Outlook Calendar up at all times.

Prior Monitor Set Up - I have previously used 2 27” monitors (non 4K). I have used a single 4K Wide Panel screen before (Dell U3417W).

Likes/Dislikes - The dual monitor set up was good in that I could keep OmniFocus and my calendar on one screen and edit in the other. Though to see the document the best and to edit it (and see comments on the side) it was difficult to get all to fit in the 27”. That lead me to the Dell. I liked the width but I could never get used to the vertical viewing range which felt cramped. Also to be able to see it clearly for text I had to scale which seemed to defeat the reason to have 4K.

Budget - Short of the big Apple monitor my budget is flexible (say up to $2,000) for any set up as Macsparky says, it’s how I “pay for my shoes.”

Confession - I enjoy using tech. After trying to figure out ppi, OLED, WQHD, resolutionss, and all that I give up and can’t expand more brain power on it.

Desk - Monitor will be on my desk. The way the desk is set up it can be placed from 6” to 3’ from where I sit.

Any thoughts on set ups or monitors anyone would suggest I look in to?

Welcome!

Your 34" Dell had 110 pixels per inch.

At native 3840x2160, the 43" LG has a PPI of 102, so things are slightly larger than your Dell, with a whopping 2160 pixels of vertical space.

At 1920x1080, the 43" LG has a PPI of just 51, which could not be easier to read.

For reference, before everything was miniaturized with laptops and smartphones, user interfaces like macOS’ were originally designed to be comfortable at 72 PPI.

Increasing the screen physical size while reducing the PPI might not really look sharp while reading documents.