"More modern" design in BIG SUR

As the discussions of BIG SUR have been making the Apple nerd podcast-o-sphere, the phrase of choice has been “more modern.” Having looked over the previews and some screenshots, I definitely get the choice of description - yet, in my mind, I can’t describe to myself in detail what “more modern” actually means.

I’m not a designer, so the question I’m posing is, “What makes a design modern, in 2020?”

Some have said that as design went to skeuomorphic to minimal and flat, the pendulum is moving back somewhat to a more three-dimensional ‘neumorphic’ design.

Not sure I buy it completely.

2 Likes

IMO, the design of BS is “younger”.

When I first saw BS in the keynote it triggered something. A feeling? Or a memory? Then it came to me while I was listening to Ep. 542. The colors and/or perhaps the shapes remind me of a baby shower, once a very common event at my previous employer. Or perhaps a two year old’s birthday party.

This isn’t necessarily a criticism of the design. I’m partially color blind which may have something to do with it. I wasn’t a fan of IOS 7 either but I’ll get used to it.

I also think the spacing of menubar elements and enlargement of icons does the housework to allow them to eventually be used as touch items.

In 2000 Steve Jobs showed of the OS X interface, saying, “We made the buttons on the screen look so good you’ll want to lick them.” Now the buttons are so good you’ll want to touch them.

1 Like

Buttons still a work in progress (hopefully!). Some interesting thread comments.

Am I wrong in thinking that many of these discussions become philosophical? Aren’t we ultimately talking about art? Who defines “modern”?

2 Likes

well since we won’t stick a framed print of the ui on the wall we’re not talking about art (ok, it’s not art even if we keep it on our monitors).