Moving from iMac to MacBook Pro - transition questions

Hi

I’m contemplating a move from my creaking 2013 27" fusion drive iMac to the Macbook Pro 13". For the last 20 years of Mac use I’ve always had a Mac desktop as my main workhorse but recently I’ve felt the need have some freedom and be untethered from the desk. I’m a designer/developer and trying to keep the development environment in sync on two Macs (iMac and vintage 2012 MBP) is a nightmare. I’m thinking about pulling the trigger on the 13-inch MacBook Pro 2.3GHz i5 processor, 16GB ram and 1TB of storage.

Has anyone else made this transition? Am I nuts, should I just buy another iMac?

The thing I’m mostly worried about is displays. I’m tempted by the LG Ultrafine 5K, would this MBP config power a 5k monitor without problems? Would it power two of these displays if I wanted to add a second down the line? Are there any other displays I should consider? Dell 4K displays?

And then there’s storage, my current iMac has a 1TB fusion drive which is almost full, the most I can go to on the MBP is 1TB SSD. On these SSD drives how do you guys handle large photo and itunes libraries?

Are there any extra bits and pieces I should consider picking up to make this transition from a desktop easier? I have a lot of USB peripherals, speakers, printers, external drives, etc. Not sure how I’m going to connect all this stuff whilst still making it easy to quickly pick up the MBP and go!

Sorry about the long post.

Thanks

– Leanda

1 Like

According to the Apple Tech Specs page the new 13" MBPs will only drive one 5K display:

One display with 5120-by-2880 resolution at 60Hz at over a billion colors