Moving from Squarespace to Ghost [Solved]

I know this is not the kind of question that MPU is made for but I am hoping someone can answer my questions.

I have a blog on Squarespace which I created because I have no coding experience and it seemed the right choice (seeing how I listen to ton of podcasts and we all know how heavily Squarespace advertises there, it’s no surprise).

But after months of deliberation, I have finally decided to move to Ghost. It seems to be a far better platform for blogging. My main problem is that I don’t know how to move my existing posts to Ghost. Since Squarespace only exports XML files and Ghost only imports JSON file, I am at a loss.

First, I want to know if anyone on MPU Forum has made the same switch and can give me some advice. If not, if there’s any resource someone can point me to that can help me with this. Because, I cannot find it anywhere.

I did find this post

And I tried everything that it said. Even learnt how to create package.json file and everything. But I am encountering errors and I don’t have the coding knowledge to resolve it.

Any and all help is appreciated.

TLDR: Need help moving blog from Squarespace to Ghost. For that I need a way to convert XML file to JSON file that Ghost can read.

P.S. Have asked the same question on Ghost forums. But I didn’t know about this problem before creating the free trial and want to see if it is feasible before the trial ends. Hence I am asking here too.

Hey guys it worked. I received help from the Ghost forum. Still have to all the upload all images manually, but at least it’s a start.

I don’t have an answer to your question (I don’t code either) but I do have a question. :slight_smile: I too have a Squarespace blog. What is the reason for wanting to move to Ghost? Why is it better for blogging?

There are many reasons.

• The blogs built on ghost are way faster. Squarespace blogs are slow to load, especially if you are writing long posts with many images.