Moving icloud files to external or second drive

I have dropbox symlinked to a secondary HD in my iMac,to avoid using up space on my SSD. This has worked flawlessly for years.

Has anyone tried doing the same with icloud? I worry the tighter OS integration and renaming of file names might break something…

Never mind:

I’m curious why that choice vs pointing the Dropbox app at your secondary HD, which it has allowed folks to do for a long time now.

If it works for you, great, maybe no reason to change, but I’ve been doing the opposite for several years (pointing Dropbox to external drive, and then linking it with ln to ~/Dropbox/) and prefer that option.

I would even try that. Seems a recipe for heartache and sadness, especially with as much stuff as iCloud tries to do "magically’ behind the scenes.

What I gather from this conversation, and others in the MPU forum, is that if your internal SSD is smaller than your iCloud storage, you cannot (or at least it is not advised to) spread files across external storage to sync them into iCloud. The only option seems to be Optimize Mac Storage, which to me is not an option (gave up on it, since it has the uncanny knack to remove the files that I need and leave the files that I don’t).

Would you agree, or do you see another option how to do this? I’m thinking of backing up my 1.3TB external photos into iCloud, if I were to get Apple One Premier.

Correct.

This is one of the big advantages of Dropbox, honestly. You can move the folder anywhere. (However, if you run into problems that they can’t solve, they’ll tell you that the only “supported” configuration is having it on the boot drive — although I defy anyone to find that out without specifically hunting down that information.

I have an older Mac mini which had a 4TB external drive. On that device, my Home folder is on the external drive so I can keep all of my iCloud and Dropbox files synced.