I use iCloud, and Apple’s various stock email clients. And unfortunately I find that either on iOS or on Mac “they” change my Preferences to do things like delete Trash after 1 week. I found my Phone did that this morning when I was looking for an email address. Archiving is turned on but it only Archives manually. The answer I think should be to let the human do the purge. I have looked to write a rule on either the Mac or in iCloud to move everything in an email folder (out of Trash). Is there a trick I am missing?
