Moving to Google Photos

Has anyone made the switch from Apple Photos to Google Photos? Have you seen any drawbacks? I’m paying for 50 GB of iCloud storage for my photos. I feel that I may get a lot more features from Google Photos than Apple (even if I have to pay for some storage). Does anyone have experience with moving between these services?

search in Google Photos definitely much better than Apple Photos, If you have Synology NAS, you can use their Photo apps too

I’ve been syncing to Apple Photos and Google Photos for a few years. Since I had a copy of all my photos on my iPad I just installed the app and turned on backup.

You can upload by installing the Google Drive app on your Mac or use a browser. And it appears you can still request a copy of your iCloud photos to be sent to Google using privacy.apple.com.

The feature set is basically the same as Apple Photos and you can share your entire library with one other person. And I agree with @fuzzygel , search is much better.

1 Like

I’ve always thought of doing this, but then the google drive app on the mac is very bad. It gets unmounted very frequently and creates weird symlink folders on the finder.

Anyway, @fuzzygel @WayneG don’t you use the feature where Apple Photos shows your photos on their maps? That’s pretty cool. Also memories etc…?

When I was on Android, G Photos was really good, easy syncing, searching, etc.

I don’t recall having any major problems with the old Backup & Sync app and the new Google Drive for Desktop that was released last July works well.

I don’t use the memories feature but I do use the map features. When you flip up on a photo in Google Photos the photo moves up to reveal the photo data and a map rather than in an insert like in Apple Photos.