MS Word not working after Catalina upgrade

I upgraded my 13-inch 2017 Macbook Pro to Catalina last night. Today MS Word doesn’t work. I have an Office 365 subscription and checked that I am using the most current version - no updates available. It doesn’t matter whether I launch Word itself or double-click a Word doc - Word opens momentarily and then I get this:

There was a problem with Microsoft Word and your recent work might be lost. We apologize for the inconvenience.

I have tried a few things. First I did everything recommended on this page: https://www.easeus.com/mac-file-recovery/word-not-opening-on-mac.html

None of that worked. Then I uninstalled all MS Office programs and reinstalled them. No help.

I’m in crisis because I depend on MS Word to make my living. Can anyone offer any advice?

1 Like

I had sth similar and the trick with the library (https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/msoffice/forum/all/word-for-mac-keeps-crashing-when-i-try-and-save-a/cdedc890-45e6-458b-b41d-e9634758cfe7) helped.

You can also look at this:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/2693802/word-for-mac-error-microsoft-word-has-encountered-a-problem-and-needs

Thanks for the suggestions. No help unfortunately. The problem still occurs when I boot in Safe Mode; the problem also still occurs after moving the folder com.microsoft.Word from the Containers folder to the Desktop.

I haven’t upgraded yet, and so have not experienced this issue. Have you tried using a different user account on your Mac (making a new one if necessary). This may resolve issues that are due to corrupt files in user configuration.

1 Like

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/msoffice/forum/all/mac-osx-catalina/718528ff-e7e4-4ecb-b42a-9fd1ba08ba5b - Microsoft support page for Catalina. One issue so far, Excel opening upside down and backwards, a recurrence of an issue reported in 2017. Yikes!