My Thoughts on the Current State of Evernote. Hint: It's mostly positive!

I’m sure I’m going to catch all kinds of hell in here for this, but constructive debates among nerds are always entertaining, so I know you won’t take me too far into the alley before beating me up.

Here it is – I like Evernote.

I’ve been using their app for at least 7 or 8 years, maybe longer. In fact, I even have a t-shirt of theirs from back in my blogging days, but that’s neither here nor there. Like most of you, I began to get really nervous in the lead-up to version 10. The company had stagnated for years, and their apps were completely different on each platform resulting in a less than seamless experience moving from device to device. When v10 did drop, it was a website wrapped in an Electron app, it was slow, and half the features we grew to love were gone.

It was around this time I started seriously shopping around for a replacement. I settled on Apple Notes for my personal notes and OneNote for work, since we are in the Office 365 environment anyway. I had used OneNote a lot in the past for work, so I was quite familiar with it. This solution worked okay for a few months, but it became more tedious than my previous workflow using Evernote. Clipping articles or web pages was tricky with Apple Notes, I didn’t like how it just saved a URL to the page. What if the page moves or is taken down in the future?

Similar issues cropped up at work. I’d need to annotate a screenshot for a document (I work as an Analyst) and my annotations in OneNote weren’t part of the image, but rather a new layer created on top, causing things to move around all the time.

I gave Obsidian a long hard look over the past few weeks too… It’s certainly a very powerful app, but I don’t have a huge need to backlink notes, and I like to take screen clippings and code snippets – it just seemed “easier” with Evernote.