NAS,iCloud and Backups. I need some help 😐

What would you guys suggest I do backup wise?

I currently have an iMac at my office(I am self employed) and then currently a MacBook Pro and a MacBook(planning on switching to just one of them) and then and iPad and iPhone and my wife has a MacBook Pro and iPhone and iPad

On my home network I just got a 2tb Qnap Nas that is connected through Ethernet and I am working on setting it up correctly. I also have backblaze running on my machines.

So I know I’m covered with backblaze, but I want local backups also. I have the NAS and this is my first time using it, so I am trying to get it set up the way I want to. So any tips there would be helpful for how to get my wife’s laptop to backup to it also

We both have iCloud with the max storage and we both use photos(her even more than me) from our iPhones for our kids etc.

How would you suggest I back up our photos we take on our iPhone that are saved in iCloud onto my NAS? I keep searching online and am pretty confused!

Thanks for the help!

There are lots of approaches, but if you find it bewildering, perhaps just use QNAP for Time machine?

I actually use my QNAP NAS to sync from cloud services and snapshot backup from that for a somewhat unusual multi service backup routine. Not something I’d recommend, but I have some less than usual circumstances on some of it.

In terms of photos from iDevices take a look at Qphoto, the QNAP photo app. It isn’t automatic backup though from what I remember.

Hope that helps.

Like @sylumer already mentioned, the easiest way would be using QNAP in combination with Time Machine: https://www.qnap.com/en-us/how-to/tutorial/article/time-machine-support