New Work Desk (Caution, Windows ahead)

I work within Compliance across areas such as Information Security, Data Protection, Quality and Health & Safety. Much of my work is screen based with systems and Spreadsheets alongside lots of facetime on Teams meetings.

Before the pandemic, I was very office based, with a 50 mile commute and a very busy workload, where possible, I’d work from home 1 day a week (for concentration alone) which consisted of sitting at the dining table with my Laptop.

Bizarrely, when the Pandemic started, I spent nearly as much time in the office (one of very few people who did) because I didn’t really have a decent space to work from home, and the idea of working from a 13” laptop screen for weeks really didn’t appeal. I worked in the Energy industry and we needed to support keeping the lights on, so I had the Luxury of being one of very few people who could work out of the office.

Then, 2 things happened within a few months.

1. I picked up a cheap Dell WD15 USB C dock which allowed me to “Twin” my mac setup in my very small desk in my bedroom so I could share my larger monitor between my Mac Mini and my work laptop.
  2. I changed employer with no option to work in the office during lockdowns

So from November 2020, I was completely home based for 5 months until we reopened the Manchester Office and I could work there, which I did for 3 days a week, squeezing into my 80cm x 50cm workspace for the other two days. Which became 4 days at home a week as our Office became very full and very noisy.

Some recent rearrangement at home though provided some space in our Conservatory so I visited IKEA and bought 2 x Alex drawer sets and a 120 x 60 desktop to setup a workspace so I don’t spend about 18 hours a day in our Bedroom during the week.

It’s a windows setup with a 13” Dell work laptop and a Dell 2k monitor along with my iPad.

The Keyboard is a Logitech Pebble which allows switching between the iPad and Laptop with a Wireless HP Mouse.