OCR PDF Script Help/PDFPenPro

I have a MacMini that is shared and stores all of my lawfirm’s files, including PDFs. I have tried to use the Apple Script that Katie published on her blog to achieve this but sometimes there are just too many PDFs for the process to keep up, which causes the whole machine to lock-up.

I am still learning Apple Script and was wondering if someone can help modify the below script to limit the number of PDFs that PDFPen opens at one time to OCR. It could even be as few as one at a time. The MacMini is always on so it would eventually catch up. Below is the script I am using. Thanks.

tell application "PDFpen"
open theFile as alias
-- does the document need to be OCR'd?
get the needs ocr of document 1
if result is true then
	tell document 1
		ocr
		repeat while performing ocr
			delay 1
		end repeat
		delay 1
		close with saving
	end tell
	--In PDFpen, when no documents are open, window 1 is "Preferences"
	--If other documents are open, do not close the App.
	if name of window 1 is "Preferences" then
			quit
		end tell
	end if
else
	-- Scan Doc was previously OCR'd or is already a text type PDF.
	tell document 1
		close without saving
	end tell
	--In PDFpen, when no documents are open, window 1 is "Preferences"
	--If other documents are open, do not close the App.
	if name of window 1 is "Preferences" then
			quit
		end tell
	end if
end if

end tell

How are you triggering the script? Do you have it as part of a Hazel rule? Are you trying to OCR a backlog of PDF’s or does your law firm just simply create so many new PDFs that the MacMini locks up just from the new PDFs added on a daily basis?

Yes, I am triggering the script from a Hazel rule, and yes, there is a backlog of PDFs that need to be OCR’d.