OneDrive for Business: First Experiences

An email went out at the large college where I am an administrator and teach a psychology class or two: “OneDrive for Business is now available for everyone, rejoice.” (OK, I added the “rejoice.”). I immediately installed it on my work MacBook Pro and it didn’t work. First, I had to sign out of Microsoft 365 and restart my laptop. Then, OneDrive didn’t think it was online. I emailed Microsoft and had a response in about 5 minutes! The difference emailing from an enterprise account makes. Their step by step instructions worked.

I still don’t have it working on my personal MacBook Pro, because our network security people require you to be hardwired to the network to authenticate on a computer, but not on a phone or tablet. Of course, connecting your personal equipment to the network is forbidden. Also, our network security has decided that you can’t share files for anyone outside of the college.

So OneDrive is not a solution for me. Also, I have to say I don’t trust OneDrive to work and not give me these errors. I can see me being at a conference ready to present and getting an error message that OneDrive has installed an update and I need to connect to the college network to re-authenticate. This is why I begrudgingly pay for Dropbox, it just works and I have never had errors of any kind.

The one device where OneDrive installed and worked flawlessly… my iPad Pro. No issues at all.

My university (where I study, not work) has something similar for our Office 365 deal. You’re not supposed to be able to sign in on a desktop. They weren’t pleased when I told them it works perfectly on macOS :rofl: (Somehow they didn’t disable it correctly.)

Not being able to share outside of your college seems like a poor decision, don’t you collaborate with other institutions?

OneDrive never really worked reliable on a Mac.
Also many functions from the Windows counterpart are missing.