Online "Live" polling and Trello questions

Greetings Mac Power Users…

Three questions, the answer to the last one is probably Excel, but I don’t know how to do what I want yet…

1. Are there better tools than Trello for Kanban boards, task tracking and polls for ranking list items (cards)?

2. How the heck do I easily get useable data out of Trello? … I am not a JSON expert! – Looks like I can export to .csv only when there is one, simple column. If things get a tiny-bit more complex, .csv is grayed out and the only options left are printing to PDF and exporting to JSON.

3. What tool should I have used for this simple task (described below; but the tl;dr is “A group brainstorms a list; then wants to rank order it by votes. People can vote for more than one, but not all.” … Oh, and now it’s via Zoom or other video conference platform!).

How many of your stories start out with, “All I wanted to do was…”? :roll_eyes:

This has come up several times now, once with no notice. The no-notice one is an ok example.

I was helping facilitate a group discussion for a charity’s board retreat.

They had a number of priorities to capture and then rank order by popular vote (“What do we care about the most?”).

I was capturing the list in Excel, because I wanted to put the total number of votes in the next column and then, hopefully do something cool. My computer was plugged into a projector and people could see the sheet on the screen, etc.

This is a fun exercise in the physical-only world: You can put all the topics up on a board, with each topic standing alone in its own column or box (with room) and give everyone 3 to 5 colored stickers and say, “Put your stickers where you want to vote!”

The number of stickers depends on the number of topics, etc.

I’d love anyone’s rule of thumb on # of stickers, 1/3 the number of topics, 1/2? – Is there a great formula, based on number of participants and number of topics?