Optimal iPad Pro size with iPadOS?

I have the first gen iPad 9.7 and 12.9 (yes, 2 iPads and I love them both). Looking to upgrade and get to ONE iPad. Recommendations on size and does iPadOS impact that choice? I love the 12.9 for typing and taking handwritten notes. The 9.7 is ideal for reading. I am really torn between the 2 sizes. I keep going back and forth. I use my iPad ALL the time for meetings, note taking, content creation, reading, etc. I do not do much drawing and very little games. I am a business coach / consultant. Any insight is appreciated.

I also am thinking about upgrading now while the prices are coming down. I do not see anything special to wait for.

You could always buy both :grinning:

Of course, the average between 9.1 and 12.9 puts you right at the doorstep of the 11".

1 Like

I use mine a lot while travelling and in my lap on my couch , so I got the 11" and love it. If this will be your only computer, you may want to consider the 12.9".

Edited to add: If you think you’ll be doing a lot of work with split screen multitasking, then the 12.9" is the way to go.

I think it is all about personal preference. I use an 11" myself, and love it.
Have looked at the 12.9 when I bought the one I have now, but it felt slightly too big to me.

I would definitely check out the 11" iPad Pro in person to see if that fits your needs.

I have the 12.9" and love it, especially when reading PDFs in portrait. Yes, for reading novels it is a little bit, but I don’t see myself buying an iPad mini anytime soon, so I guess I’ll have to live with this. :slight_smile:

We have a couple of iPad’s in our office. The 12.9 is to big to handle, great as a laptop replacement where you put it on a table with the folio keyboard. But holding it while sitting on the couch or in an airplane seat is just awkward. The 11" iPad Pro is awesome.

1 Like