Overcast sync broken?

Has anyone else noticed changed sync behavior on Overcast? I’ve been using the app for years on my iPhone and iPad. Earlier, whenever I downloaded a new episode on either device, it would get downloaded on the other device too. Now, the episode does get synced (in that it will show up in my unplayed episodes) but it won’t actually download in the second device unless I manually do so.

Though I have a Premium subscription I’ve never had any luck with Overcast support over the years and so thought I’d ask if anyone else has noticed this issue here.

There is no support - if you listen to the “under the radar”-podcast with the developer - you will hear several times in the past that emails just get ignored…

But to your topic: podcast got synced here too, but only start downloading when i open the app.

There were some issues with earlier versions of iOS 13 causing downloads to stall, but touch wood, that has been fixed. I’ve only tried the synch between devices once, when I was away on holiday with just my phone, but it seemed to work ok then.

You have a somewhat better chance of getting a reply by sending a message on Twitter to @OvercastFM.

I’ve never had issues with sync, or developer feedback. Have you tried the twitter option?

I switched to Castro after a Carplay bug that wasn’t getting fixed. Castro developers actually do reply to email and the app works great especially on Carplay where I use it the most.

1 Like

Thanks guys. Have sent a tweet to @OvercastFM. :crossed_fingers:

I’ve not had this issue but have had multiple times the app will just stop playing a podcast for no reason. Anyone else dealing with this? I can’t figure it out. I really like Overcast but I’m really close to moving on.