Pages: linking a paragraph style with a numbering style? (or auto-numbering headings?)

Is there a way in Pages to link a numbering style with a paragraph style such that all paragraphs with a given paragraph style also get particular numbering style?

In Word, numbering can be incorporated into a paragraph style. But I can’t seem to do the same thing in Pages.

Longer background:

I’m a lawyer, trying to set up a pleading template in Pages. In Oregon, our pleadings are supposed to have numbered paragraphs (which is common). But those numbers are supposed to appear centered, on their own line abovce the paragraph to which they relate. (This is uncommmon). In Word, I make this easy by having two paragraph styles, one centered and numbered, the other not centered, and left alinged. These two styles are set up so that the “Style for following pagraph” is the other style. So that when I finish a paragraph of text, I get a numbered paragraph, then immediately hit return again, and get another paragraph of text. I want to set up this same thing (or its functional equivalent) in Pages. But can’t seem to make a numbered paragraph style.

If I understand what you want to do, I think it’s possible, although it sounds like in Word the sequence of numbers is entered automatically.

Create a new style called “Numbered” or whatever you want to call it. I assume you know how to do this but if not, just ask and I’ll walk you through it.

In the formatting palette on the right, click on “More” (third tab) and at the bottom, you’ll see a dropdown menu titled “Following Paragraph Style” Select the one you wish to follow. (In my test, I used “Body”)

Then go to the second style (Body, in my example) and select “Numbered” for the following paragraph style.

I just tested this and every time I hit return to start a new paragraph, I alternate between the two.