Password Managers with Offline Vault Capability

I cannot seem to find a list of password managers on macos and ios that stores data in offline vaults or allows you to choose the location of your vault. I thought it might be helpful to have a place where we can list this for those of us concerned about storing our personal/sensitive data online.

1 Like

Enpass can work with local vaults, or with your private cloud as you can set the location as you wish. It has browser extensions. I have been using for about 2 years for all my passwords and have not had major issues. I find the pricing policy strange however, I bought it as one-time purchase, but they changed somehow after and get strange ā€œupgrade to subscriptionā€ prompts. It still works, however.

2 Likes

Bitwarden is open source and has an option to store local. As i understand it is also free in the basic version.

1 Like

Add Strongbox to the list. Just about anything based on Keepass. KeepassXC is another.

2 Likes

I would really recommend using bitwarden (using vaultwarden)

Iā€™ve now transitioned to a vaultwarden instance running in docker behind a traefik reverse proxy on my mac mini, and have 1. full control over all my passwords, 2. through wireguard have full sync capabilities on the road 3. I control the whole stack and 4. through the excellent Bitwarden apps on iOS and MacOS have not lost a single ounce of fuctionality.

4 Likes

Iā€˜m just trying out the iOS version of strongbox. Looks pretty nice. I also will test the desktop version. Looks so far as it could replace 1Password completely. Has anybody and experience with syncing strongbox and what mac app to use (strongbox as well?)

I manually drag my ā€œstrongbox.kdbxā€ file from my Mac to my iPhone when I plug it in each day for backup. Strongbox app both places.

I switched to Strongbox from1Password and set up a WebDAV sync on my in-house Synology NAS server. I sync 2 macs, iPad and iPhone that way.

1 Like