Patent Paragraph Numbering in Pages

I’m a US patent attorney, and I’d like to try using Pages for preparing my patent applications. Best practice is to number paragraphs in the app using the following format, which is quite simple in Word:

[0001] First paragraph text…
[0002] Second paragraph text…

Unfortunately, Pages appears to have severe limitations on customized paragraph numbering styles, so I cannot find a way to automatically obtain sequential paragraph numbering in this style. Any suggestions? (I may just stick with Word.)

I don’t currently use Pages but I found this advice for an older version: try setting the “Heading 1” style (or whichever style-type in which you want to write) to “Numbered List”, then right-click on Heading 1 to save the style.

You can even write paragraphs with tiered numbering by setting “heading 2” style to “Numbered List”, then in the inspector palette choosing “text inspector” and then the “list” tab, then changing “numbers” to “tiered numbers” and then “continue from previous”.

Thanks for the response, bowline! I have tried this, but I am unable to get the style format to follow ”[00XX]” format. It appears that the formats aren’t customizable except for a dozen or so static choices. Am I missing something?

They are customizable beyond the “static” choices, but only with respect to font, size, text style and a few other items.

I tried to replicate your need using a text bullet rather than a numbered list, but there is no way to increment it.

You might be able to automate this, but I suspect that’s more hassle than you wish to experience. I would submit a feature request to Apple. They won’t get back to you about it, but if it is a feature they think they should add, it might show up one day in an update.

Seems that way, I agree. Word can do this, of course, and so can Nisus Writer Pro (I sometimes use NWP for formal documents). A quick search found these discussions about formatting in NWP: