PDF reader of choice? PDF expert vs Adobe Acrobat Pro

Hi guys,

I’ve been a long-time PDF expert user but recently got a MBP 16" 64 gb RAM, and acquired access to Adobe Acrobat Pro through my school. Considering the switch to Adobe bc it ultimately does have more features, and also my machine’s resources are no longer an issue. One of my pet peeves with PDF expert is that it doesn’t offer a true full screen mode. That said I feel like scrolling in Acrobat is a bit choppy so not thrilled with that either. For people who have used both regularly, what do you recommend?

What do you consider a “true full screen mode” and where does PDF Expert fall short?

And have you looked at Skim?

1 Like

Used Adobe at work. When they went towards subscriptions I moved my company to PDF Expert because it was cheaper and simpler. My employees need simple to use programs and it saves a lot of time with training. Even if cost is not an issue, unless you are doing something requiring more sophistication, I still recommend PDF Expert.

2 Likes

Thanks! Haven’t looked at skim yet but am going to now. What I consider true full screen is being able to hide the menu bar when I’m not using it. I sent it in as a feature request to them a few years ago, but it’s not there. Preview and Adobe both offer that, and it seems Skim does as well.

Thanks, this is helpful. I’m not doing anything requiring tremendous sophistication, so maybe sticking with PDF expert is the move.

I’ve used both, and I am in a similar situation. I chose to drop PDF Expert.

For full screen and for quickly viewing and searching PDFs, I find Preview more than sufficient. It has flawless scrolling for PDFs and full screen is better than PDF Expert.