PDF's - Finder or Evernote/Notes

What is the best way to store PDF’s? I am an administrator for my company. I currently store pdf invoices in Evernote. But with the recent hoopla with Evernote it has got me thinking if this was is the best way to go for PDF’s. Are PDF’s really meant for note apps such as Evernote or Notes? I started using Evernote because it is cross platform.

1. I could store all these PDF’s in Finder folders and mark them up in Preview
  2. Continue with my current system (but move to Apple Notes) though I am not sure this is the most efficient way to go about it i.e using a Notes app for storing PDFs.

Any suggestions or thoughts?

I would store them in Finder or consider using DEVONthink. You can still use Preview, or DEVONthink, or one of many other choices for annotating them.

Evernote is not a great file-storage container, IMO.

1 Like

I used to put PDFs in DevonThink, now I just have them in folders (and subfolders) on my hard drive.

If you’re an admin whatever choice you make should be sufficiently future-proofed so that if you quit or get promoted your replacement can easily continue your set procedures without any immediate need to rip it up and start over.

If Evernote is working well now and there’s no clear near- or medium-term cocerns about the safety and usability of your invoices I’d just keep things as they are and keep an eye on possible changes to the company into the next year. Getting your data out of Evernote isn’t too much of an issue, and there are plenty of options (eg DTP, OneNote, Google Drive) if you need to migrate.

+1 for DEVONthink Pro Office (DTPO). DTPO’s search features are second to none, making it very easy to find documents of interest.

I use DTPO to store PDFs from a variety of sources:

• I download financial documents in PDF format
  • I scan hardcopy documents into PDF format (then run an OCR on them)
  • And I use the “Clip to DEVONthink” browser plugin to save web pages in PDF format.